“Singing At Mignight”

My Story

Have you ever had one of THOSE weeks? I know at some point you’ve had the kind of week that by the time Friday arrived you were thankful you’d survived one horrible day after another. Well, that’s been my kind of week. My Grandma always said, “Things come in three’s”, however since last Sunday I’ve faced one challenge or disappointment every day. Today I received a two-fer, a challenge and a disappointment, which made it the icing on the cake, the straw that broke the camel’s back, the final nail in the coffin. ( I think you get the idea.) 

I could describe the details of my daily tragedies and maybe for a moment you’d probably feel sorry for me and I might feel better, but in the long run I don’t know that anyone would gain something useful from it.  I can guarantee we’d all have a headache from reading it. What I can’t wait to tell you about is how God gave me just enough grace for every moment no matter what the challenge or the disappointment, especially last night around midnight.

I was reading Chapter 16 of Acts about Paul and Silas being beaten and thrown in jail for the cause of Christ and I found my heart was beating faster as I was mesmerized by a story I had read since I was a child. My heart was so humbled at their commitment to Christ and His call on their life I kept reading and rereading the same passage. I have condensed Acts 16:20-40 into my own words because it affected me so much. The scriptures reminded me that we all are faced with great difficulties, but no matter what they are we can NEVER forget to praise God. He loves us so much that when we choose to stop moping around and sing praises to Him He’ll break our chains of sadness and then we can walk in all that God has planned for us. I heard Beth Moore say something that has really stuck with me. She said, “God wants us to do more than survive, He wants us to thrive.”

Paul Fights Back Against the Enemy (Acts 16:20-40)

Paul and Silas were on the front lines of the battle once again in Philippi. The Holy Spirit spoke to Paul in a dream and led he and Silas to the region, but it didn’t take long for unscrupulous people to start telling lies about their ministry. They were soon arrested, beaten, thrown into the inner jail with their feet locked in stocks.

As usual Paul and Silas didn’t let being bound in prison stop them from praying and singing praises to God—even the prisoners were listening to their unbridled worship.  Suddenly miracles began to happen. The earth began to shake with God’s pleasure at their obedience which caused everyone’s chains to fall away and the prison doors to open, but not one prisoner fled. The jailer was saved when he saw Paul, Silas and all the other prisoners were still accounted for and he knew grace had been extended to him.

The jailer showed kindness to Paul and Silas and washed their stripes and fed them. The jailer and his entire family was rejoicing because they had been baptized that very night.

The next morning word was sent from the magistrates to let Paul and Silas go free, but Paul said, “No! Let them come themselves and get us out.” It was important to Paul that nothing is done in secret. He was always looking out for the new Christians, like those in Philippian church, even if it prolonged his suffering.

The magistrates came and pleaded with Paul and Silas to leave the city. Before the two friends could leave they stopped by Lydia’s home, a newly baptized convert, to encourage the brethren of the church and then Paul and Silas were off to another adventure for Christ.

My Prayer

Lord,

Help me to have the boldness in faith and worship that Paul and Silas had for You. Help me to see past the obstacles in front of me so that I can keep my eyes on the goal that You have set before me.

Help me to always think of others first like You and these brave men because I want to be the witness you desire me to be. Help me Lord, to be like You.

My Song 

HAVE THINE OWN WAY, LORD

Have thine own way, Lord!  Have Thine own way!

Thou art the Potter, I am the clay.

Mold me and make me after Thy will,

While I am waiting, yielded and still. (Isiah 64:8) 

 

 

 

  

 

 

 

About Crystal Y. Hathcock

I am a freelance writer who loves to share my faith in Christ with others through my writing. I am a self taught cook and I enjoy sharing my new discoveries in the kitchen with my husband and friends. My interest also include singing at my church in the choir, a girl's goup, and a mixed trio. I find enjoyment making jewlry, couponing, decorating and taking care of my husband and my two puppies--Hankie and Calvin.
This entry was posted in Devotions. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to “Singing At Mignight”

  1. Dianne Ferguson says:

    Crystal,

    That was so encouraging to me. Your devotional is right up there with Beth Moore and Charles Stanley! I pray I will always praise the Lord no matter what comes in my life…He is worthy to be praised!!! Love ya!!

Leave a comment